Image 1 of 1
The Pyithu Hluttaw, or lower house of Burma's parliament where, in 2012, Aung San Suu Kyi and several members of the National League for Democracy were sworn in. Parliament is dominated by former soldiers, their positions guaranteed under a constitution which was ratified after a fraudulent referendum in 2008. A quarter of parliamentary seats have gone to military personnel. Most senior ministerial posts are held by former generals, including the new president, Thein Sein. The Union Solidarity and Development Party, a proxy for the military and its supporters, holds most positions. The government moved the capital from Rangoon (Yangon) in November 2005. /Felix Features