Image 1 of 1
The parliament buildings in the capital of Nay Pyi Daw. The Pyithu Hluttaw, or lower house of Burma's parliament, is dominated by former soldiers, their positions guaranteed under a constitution which was ratified after a fraudulent referendum in 2008. A quarter of parliamentary seats have gone to military personnel. Most senior ministerial posts are held by former generals, including the new president, Thein Sein. The Union Solidarity and Development Party, a proxy for the military and its supporters, holds most positions. The government moved the capital from Rangoon (Yangon) in November 2005.  . /Felix Features